Close
Close
    KRISHNAN is offline I'm new here!

Wink change background of photo

I have this photo of my brother - In - Law with me. I want to change the background to white. can anyone assist. I have never done it before. I have picasa 2 but not sure how it can be done using this software.
    Attached Images Attached Images

pepe is offline I'm new here!

I'm not sure how picasa works, but a free photo editing software is gimp. www.gimp.org. It works a lot like photoshop. Once that is installed, you use the lasso tool and click on the edge of the image, make sure to click all the way around and reconnet the starting point and the ending point. THen click copy, paste (edit), and new layer(tool bar bottom left-looks like a piece of paper).
    Then you can add a 2nd new layer and fill it w/ what you want. that's the basic. There are some great tuts out there if you google background extraction gimp.
    Cheers
    Cheers,
    PEPE

RoyL is offline dPS Forum Member

Just downloading Picasa as nobody seems to have answered this for you.

Just downloaded and installed Picasa 3 as this is the newest version and only one I could get. My advice, unInstall it and get something decent, there is very little editing tools.

Try this one, Vicman's. The site also has a load of other related software and all of it is free. Here is the link

http://www.vicman.net/vcwphoto/

Vicman's has a lot of features not found in a few editors. You can also use Layers which is a bonus once you know how to use them. There are also heaps of tutorials on the software.

The suggestion to use the Gimp is ok if you are experienced with photo editing. It is a bit overbearing for some users and really is nothing like Photoshop at all.

Once you have a reasonable editor then it is easy to change the background.