Close
Close
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    SCole is offline I'm new here!

Question Help! Have to shoot in church with no flash...

I have been asked to photograph our pastor's anniversary Mass in a few weeks. I was told no flash at all and am worried about getting any decent shots. I'm a rank amateur for sure and could use any tips I can muster. The church is relatively dark, the only natural light coming through 2 large stained glass windows on either side. The altar has a tan brick back wall and dark green carpeting. The lighting is mixed between high incandescent chandeliers and fluorescent recessed cans. Makes for some pretty sickly skin tones! I have a Nikon D90 and a Sigma 70-200 f2.8 zoom, without image stabilization. I'll need the zoom as I have to stay in the rear of the center aisle to shoot the ceremony. (at their request) I will be using a monopod. I will have the chance to go in and do some test shots before the date, so I can practice anything you all might suggest. I'd really like to do well on this, as it's my first 'serious' photo shoot. I have been gobbling up all I can read on my new camera and low light techniques in general. I really appreciate any help you can give me!
    SCole
    Nikon D700, D90,
    Nikon 50mm f1.8, Sigma DC 17-70mm f2.8-4.5, Sigma EX 70-200mm f2.8, Nikon DX 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 ED, SB 900

CaptainNH is offline dPS Forum Member

I recently shot a wedding with the trifecta of dark church & no flash, mixed lighting and a minister who allowed me to shoot from the back of the church only - congratulations on finding the same combination

My solution was a Canon 70-200/2.8L IS shooting wide open and ISO3200 (on a 5D2, so I didn't have a problem with noise.

Your lens is a good start, and the monopod will give you a little assistance in lieu of IS, a tripod would be better, but more clumsy. You'll have to crank your ISO too, but how far you can push a D90 I'm not sure - perhaps this is something you can practice before the day.