Close
Close
    OneLuckyMom is offline I'm new here!

Default Lens for Canon 60D?

Hi,
    I'm still somewhat new to photography and have learnt so much from this site and forum! A little background might help, I currently have a PowerShot SX20, which I use almost exclusively in manual mode, so I have at least a beginners understanding of ISO, aperture, etc. I have decided to purchase a DSLR and have narrowed my choice to the Canon 60D or possibly T3I. I mainly take photos of my children and family, often indoors and in low light. I am considering purchasing used in order to save money.

I have a question regarding lenses. A review of the 60D suggested that the camera really requires a fast lens. Budget is an issue and it will likely be a (very) long time before I can upgrade a lens above the kit 18-200mm and hopefully a 50mm 1.8 prime. Am I likely to end up disappointed with the 60D without the fast (expensive) lenses? Is this a reason to choose the less costly T3i?

If anyone can offer any suggestions, advice or personal experience to aid my research it would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

veritasimagery is online now I'm one of "those" people

Both the 60D and T3i use the same sensor, so they will face the same issues with lens speed. The 60D has a better AF system though.
    Kevin
    Canon EOS 60D, Canon EOS T3i, Canon A-1, Canon AE-1 Program, Various lenses
    http://500px.com/VeritasImageryNW/photos
    http://veritasimagerynw.smugmug.com/

inkista is offline Gear Geek Girl

AFAIK, the T3i and 60D mostly have the same sensor and processor in them, so the image quality will be the same.

Generally, you need to go with higher-end glass if you're shooting on full-frame (5D), but all things are mostly going to be equal between crop bodies.